Atomic Energy of Canada Limited. This Crown company was incorporated in February 1952 under the Atomic Energy Control Act, 1946 (RSC 1970, c.A-19) to take over from the National Research Council on April 1, 1952 the operation of the Chalk River project. The main activities of the company are scientific research and development in the atomic energy field, the development of economic nuclear power, the operation of nuclear reactors, the marketing of nuclear power systems, and the production of radioactive isotopes and associated equipment such as cobalt-60 beam therapy units for the treatment of cancer. AECL is responsible for the provision of sufficient quantities of heavy water to meet the demands of the CANDU reactor program, the construction and operation of heavy water plants, and research and development involving present and prospective heavy water production methods. The company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Bank of Canada. Legislation of 1934 (RSC 1970, c.B-2) provided for the establishment of a central bank in Canada to regulate credit and currency, to control and protect the external value of the Canadian dollar and to stabilize the level of production, trade, prices and employment as far as may be possible within the scope of monetary action. The Bank acts as the fiscal agent of the Government of Canada, manages the public debt and has the sole right to issue notes for circulation in Canada. It is managed by a board of directors appointed by the government and composed of a governor, a deputy governor and 12 directors; the Deputy Minister of Finance is also a member of the board (ex officio). The Bank reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Bilingual Districts Advisory Board. The Official Languages Act (RSC 1970, c.O-2) authorizes the establishment by proclamation of the Governor in Council of federal bilingual districts, in which federal services will be provided in English and French. For a territory to be declared a bilingual district, the two official languages must be spoken by residents of the area and at least 10% of the total population must speak a mother tongue which is the official language of the linguistic minority within the area. An area may be established as a federal bilingual district, even if it does not reach the required percentage, if federal services were already customarily available to residents in both official languages before the Act came into force. To determine the boundaries of these districts, the Act requires the federal government to set up an Advisory Board of five to 10 commissioners, representing the several provinces or regions of Canada. The Board must be constituted as soon as possible after each decennial census and makes its recommendations based on census statistics, such public hearings as it considers necessary and after consultation with provincial governments. Its report is submitted through the Secretary of State to the Governor in Council who causes it to be tabled in Parliament.

Blue Water Bridge Authority. The Bridge Authority was created by the Blue Water Bridge Authority Act (SC 1964, c.6). It is responsible for the operation of the Canadian portion of the bridge spanning the St. Clair River from Point Edward, Ont. to Port Huron, Mich. Tolls set are subject to the approval of the Canadian Transport Commission. The Authority is a non-profit organization and all toll moneys must be used for the operation and maintenance of the present bridge or for the building of a new one. It is not an agent of the Crown but members of the Authority are appointed by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Transport with terms of office ranging from one to five years.

Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors. Established under the Canada Lands Survey Act (RSC 1970, c.L-5), the Board examines candidates: for admission as articled pupils; for commissions as Dominion Land Surveyors; or for certificates as Dominion Topographical Surveyors. It is also responsible for the discipline of Dominion Land Surveyors. The Board has three members appointed by the Governor in Council, one of whom, the chairman, is the Surveyor General of Canada Lands; it is part of the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Bureau of Pensions Advocates. The Bureau was established in 1971 by amendments to the Pension Act (SC 1970-71, c.31). Composed of a Chief Pensions Advocate appointed by the Governor in Council, and Pensions Advocates, officers and employees appointed under the Public Service Employment Act, it administers Part II of the Pension Act. Its function is to provide an independent professional legal aid service to applicants for awards under the Pension Act. The Bureau's head office is in Ottawa; there are district offices in 18 major centres across Canada. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Canada Council. The Council was established by Order in Council dated April 15, 1957, under the terms of the Canada Council Act (RSC 1970, c.C-2) assented to March 28, 1957. It is composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman and 19 other members, a director and an associate director. The function of the Council is to encourage the arts, humanities and social sciences in Canada, mainly through a broad program of fellowships and grants. Its principal sources of income are an annual grant from the government, which